Carbon Black

Global market and opportunities

Germany alone produces about 630,000 tons of waste tires per year. The EU produces 3.2 million tons, and the US a total of 4.4 million. Even in the EU, no less than 4% ends up on a landfill, and 50% is burned in furnaces in the cement industry. Another major percentage is ground into granules and rubber flour to be used in road surfaces and sports floorings. The ecological and economic reutilization results are significantly below the value of the bound raw materials.

Waste-tires: an unrecovered treasure

In addition to oil and gas, rubber granules contain the high-tech material carbon black. Carbon black serves as a basic material for many industry sectors – for the production of dyes, tires, rubber, as well as plastic. This makes carbon black an important commodity for which demand is steadily increasing: experts are predicting an annual market growth of at least 4%. Currently they are expecting a global need totaling 13 million tons every year.

A method for recovering the raw materials used from waste-tires for the first time closes the resource cycle in tire production: the recovered carbon black is fed back into the production process with only minor losses. This significantly reduces the need for new crude oil and natural gas. Thus, tire manufacturers are less dependent on fossil fuels and the price volatilities of the commodities markets associated with them. As a consequence, purchase costs for carbon black and hence for the entire tire production decline considerably. 

Global market for carbon black

Carbon Black

Weltmarkt und Chancen

Allein in Deutschland fallen jährlich rund 630.000 Tonnen Altreifen an. EU-weit sind es 3,2 Millionen Tonnen, in den USA sogar 4,4 Millionen. Davon landen selbst in der EU immer noch 4 % auf einer Deponie, 50 % werden in Brennöfen der Zementindustrie verheizt. Ein weiterer Großteil wird zu Granulat und Gummimehl für den Einsatz in Straßenbelägen und Sportplatzböden vermahlen. Die ökologischen und ökonomischen Verwertungsergebnisse liegen dabei deutlich unter dem Wert der gebundenen Rohstoffe.

Altreifen: ein ungehobener Schatz

Neben Öl und Gas enthält Gummigranulat Industrieruß, den Hochtechnologie-Werkstoff Carbon Black. Carbon Black dient vielen Industriebereichen als Grundstoff – zur Farbstoff-, Reifen- und Gummiherstellung sowie zur Kunststoffproduktion. Damit ist Industrieruß ein wichtiger Rohstoff mit stetig steigender Nachfrage: Experten rechnen mit einem jährlichen Marktwachstum von mindestens 4 %. Derzeit erwartet man einen jährlichen Bedarf von ca. 13 Millionen Tonnen.

Der Bedarf an neuem Erdöl sinkt

Ein Verfahren, das die verwendeten Rohstoffe aus Altreifen zurückgewinnt, schließt zum ersten Mal den Wertstoffkreislauf bei der Reifenherstellung: Das wiedergewonnene Carbon Black kehrt in den Herstellungsprozess zurück und zirkuliert mit nur noch geringfügigen Verlusten im Kreislauf. Der Bedarf an neuem Erdöl und Erdgas sinkt signifikant. Dadurch werden Reifenhersteller von den fossilen Brennstoffen und den damit verbundenen Preisvolatilitäten an den Rohstoffmärkten unabhängiger. In der Konsequenz sinken die Kosten für den Einkauf von Carbon Black und damit für die gesamte Reifenproduktion erheblich. 

Weltmarkt für Carbon Black